Huge congratulations to United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 488 apprentice Casey O’Gorman, who won the 2019 John Tackaberry Leadership Award at BTA’s convention on Sept. 17 in Jasper, AB.

John Tackaberry Future Leaders Award

The Building Trades of Alberta Future Leaders Award was created in honour of the service and fond memory of our friend and brother, John Tackaberry.

John began apprenticing in 1976 and was a Journeyman Red Seal Glazier by trade. He was the proud chairman of the Building Trades of Alberta, business manager of IUPAT Local 177, and served on many trade and industry-related committees.

John was a leader and advocate for apprenticeship, training and workers’ rights. The Building Trades of Alberta established the John Tackaberry Future Leaders Award to be given annually to the Building Trades apprentice best able to demonstrate leadership among their peers and provide evidence of their commitment and passion to lead, ensuring the future growth and success of the unionized trade movement in Alberta.